March 27, 2024

WTC Awards Nearly $18,000 in Scholarships and Recognizes Alumni

On Wednesday, March 20, 2024, the Wilson Talent Center (WTC) awarded nearly $18,000 in scholarships to graduating seniors.

To be eligible, students needed to complete a scholarship application and have a recommendation from their WTC instructor. In addition, six outstanding alumni were also recognized for their success after leaving the WTC and contributions to their respective industries. The scholarships are made possible by the generous donations from individuals, families, businesses and community partners.

Students receiving scholarships include:

  • Accident Fund Insurance Scholarship – Tianna Tran (East Lansing)
  • Applegate Home Comfort Scholarship – Lucas Raymond (Okemos)
  • Capital Area Michigan Works! Scholarships – Cabduraahman Ibraahim (Okemos), Ragnar Spialek (Waverly) and Jay Townsley (Waverly)
  • Colin Nethaway Scholarship Fund, funded by ProAssurance – Lucas Fletcher (Stockbridge)
  • Danny Bath Legacy Tool Scholarships – Kyle Kettenbeil (Stockbridge) and Tim Sereno (Mason)
  • Deputy Grant W. Whitaker Memorial Scholarship Fund – Olivia Quiroga (Holt)
  • Edwin J. Pino Scholarships – Ethan Harmon (Holt) and Joseph Ballagh (Stockbridge)
  • Garrett Miller Memorial Scholarships – Dominic Knapp (Haslett) and Lucas Fletcher (Stockbridge)
  • Greater Lansing Home Builders & Remodelers Association Scholarship – Devin Burke (Holt)
  • Joe Dimmick Memorial Scholarship – Samuel White (Dansville)
  • LaFontaine Automotive Group Scholarships – Dominic Knapp (Haslett) and Alissa Russell (Holt)
  • Monarch Investment & Management Group Scholarship – Amelia Stiffler (Holt)
  • Orthopaedic Rehab Specialists Scholarship – Kaylin Snook (Waverly)
  • Student Success Scholarship – Gabriela Pawlak (Okemos)
  • Tim Wilson Memorial Fund Scholarships – Aubrey Nielson (Williamston) and Alexis Young (Fowlerville)
  • Troy Eaton Memorial Welding Scholarships – Violet Hacker (Dansville) and Lucas Precise (Okemos)
  • U.A. Plumber & Pipefitters Local 333 Scholarship – Andrew Mackey (Mason)
  • Ware’s Pharmacy Scholarship – Reeghan Griffith (Dansville)

The Wall-of-Fame alumni recognition program began in 2015 as a way to recognize past graduates of the then Capital Area Career Center, now Wilson Talent Center, who have found successful careers in their field of study while in high school. They must be at least five years removed from high school, made significant contributions to their industries and found a way to give back and mentor students in their respective fields. The following individuals were recognized:

  • Mitchell Dorin, Assistant Service Manager, LaFontaine Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep & Ram
  • Noelle-Marie Mwangi, Police Officer, Lansing Police Department
  • Ronald Payne, Lead Field Service Technician/Branch Trainer, Crown Lift Trucks
  • Nathan Pierce, Field Technical Specialist, Alta Equipment Company
  • Aaron Rustem, Construction Project Superintendent, The Christman Company
  • Carrie Schray, Administrative Manager, University of Michigan, Biomedical Research Facilities

“We are extremely thankful for the business partners and families that continue to support our students with these scholarship opportunities,” notes Joe Wenzel, Principal at the WTC. “It means so much to our graduating seniors to know they are supported and recognized for their efforts and dedication during high school, especially as they begin this next phase of their lives,” Wenzel also noted.

The Wilson Talent Center, operated by Ingham Intermediate School District, offers career and technical education programs for high school juniors and seniors who reside in Dansville, East Lansing, Haslett, Holt, Leslie, Mason, Okemos, Stockbridge, Waverly, Webberville and Williamston. Applications are also accepted from Lansing School District, Fowlerville Community Schools and Eaton and Clinton County Schools. For more information, visit Wilson Talent Center.

Photo Caption: Ingham ISD Superintendent, Jason Mellema, presents Joseph Ballagh (Stockbridge) with his scholarship check at the Wilson Talent Center Wall of Fame & Awards Dinner.