

For Immediate Release Contact: Stacy Adado April 15, 2022 Phone: 517.244.1324

WTC Awards Nearly \$21,000 in Scholarships and Recognizes Alumni

On Tuesday, March 15, 2022, the Wilson Talent Center (WTC) awarded nearly \$21,000 in scholarships to graduating seniors. To be eligible, students needed to complete a scholarship application and have a recommendation from their WTC instructor. In addition, four outstanding alumni were also recognized for their success after leaving the WTC and contributions to their respective industries. The scholarships are made possible by the generous donations from individuals, businesses and community partners.

Students receiving scholarships include:

- Student Success Scholarships Onome Oghor (Holt), Felicity Russell-Boyce (Holt) and Jenna Schild (Dansville)
- Campbell Press Repair Scholarships Mitchell Kelly (Mason) and Ashden Pfeil (Holt)
- Kevin A. Kelly Action Fund Scholarships Caitlyn Shaw (East Lansing), Ranae Cox (Williamston) and Stella Wilder (Webberville)
- Troy Eaton Memorial Welding Scholarships Kira Tindall (Mason) and Dakota Keith (Mason)
- Accident Fund Insurance Group Scholarship Elizabeth Brown (Mason)
- Jeff Broughton Communication Services Scholarship Madison Smith (Mason)
- Fresh & Furious Food Truck Scholarship Maya Marsh (Okemos)
- Ware's Pharmacy Scholarships Sabrina Vickery (Mason) and Abigaile Benjamin (Holt)
- Greater Lansing Home Builders Association Scholarship Nate Stec (Dansville)
- Applegate Home Comfort Scholarship Logan Guthrie (Mason)
- Monarch Investment & Management Group Scholarship Trevor DeLong (Williamston)
- Dan Wirth Memorial Scholarship Grace Tervo (Stockbridge)
- Edward J. Pino Scholarship Connor Napier (Leslie)
- Jacque Adair Memorial Scholarships Cierra Allingham (Mason) and Adam Carpenter (Mason)
- Joe Dimmick Memorial Foundation Scholarships Nevaeh Reasoner (Mason) and Meghan Starin (Holt)
- Orthopaedic Rehab Specialists Scholarship Alexis Beach (Mason)



- LaFontaine Automotive Group Scholarship David Fancher (Mason)
- Michigan Millers Insurance Scholarship Nathan Dolton (Mason)
- Mason Optimist Club Scholarship Lincoln Brecheisen (Haslett)
- Deputy Grant W. Whitaker Memorial Fund Scholarship Madalynn Zuke (Mason)
- Colin Nethaway Memorial Scholarship Gavin Carmichael (Lansing Christian)
- Tim Wilson Memorial Fund Scholarship Thu Vo (Sexton)

The Wall-of-Fame alumni recognition program began in 2015 as a way to recognize past graduates of the then Capital Area Career Center, now Wilson Talent Center, that have found successful careers in their field of study while in high school. They must be at least five years removed from high school, made significant contributions to their industries and found a way to give back and mentor students in their respective fields. The following individuals were recognized:

- Joseph Hoesl, Pipe Shop Manager, Limbach Company
- Kyle Jenkins, Master Plumber, The Meridian Company
- Mike Lilly, Executive Director of Information Technology Services, Ingham ISD
- Mallory Weil, Morning Show Producer, Fox 59 (Indianapolis)

"We are extremely thankful for the business partners that continue to support our students with these scholarship opportunities," notes Joe Wenzel, Principal at the WTC. "It means so much to our graduating seniors to know they are supported and recognized for their efforts and dedication during high school, especially as they begin this next phase of their lives," Wenzel also noted.

The Wilson Talent Center, operated by Ingham Intermediate School District, offers career and technical education programs for high school juniors and seniors who reside in Dansville, East Lansing, Haslett, Holt, Leslie, Mason, Okemos, Stockbridge, Waverly, Webberville and Williamston. Applications are also accepted from Lansing School District, Fowlerville Community Schools and Eaton and Clinton County Schools. For more information, visit <u>Wilson Talent Center</u> (www.inghamisd.org/wtc).